Various development initiatives were launched recently in Jammu and Kashmir.

Indian Prime Minister recently launched several development projects in Jammu and Kashmir as follows:
• Infrastructure: Two new branches of the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) will be opened in Jammu and Srinagar. The New Terminal Building of the Kushak Bakula Rinpoche (KBR) Airport at Leh was also inaugurated.
• Electricity: The 220 KV Single Circuit Srinagar-Alusteng-DrassKargil-Khaltsi-Leh Transmission was launched which connects Ladakh with the National Grid for assured power supply. The 9 MW Dah Hydroelectric Project in Ladakh was also inaugurated. It was declared that 100 percent of the households in J&K have been electrified under the central government’s Saubhagya Scheme.

  • The Pradhan Mantri Sahaj Bijli Har Ghar Yojana
     • The Pradhan Mantri Sahaj Bijli Har Ghar Yojana, or the ‘Saubhagya’ scheme, aims to make electricity accessible to every household by the end of 2018.
     • Under the scheme, poor households that have no access to electricity will be provided electricity connections free of cost.

• Education: University of Ladakh, established under the University of Ladakh Act 2018, was launched.
• Tourism: Several new tourist and trekking routes in the Ladakh region were opened to facilitate more tourist footfall in the area.
• The validity of the Protected Area Permit has been increased to 15 days in the Ladakh region. Now tourists will be able to enjoy their journey in Ladakh for a longer time.
Pollution Abatement Project on rivers Devika and Tawi launched under the National River Conservation Plan (NRCP).

  • National River Conservation Plan (NRCP)
     • NRCP is a centrally funded scheme launched in 1995 aimed at preventing the pollution of rivers.
     • Project included under the plan are construction of Sewage Treatment Plan (STP), river front development, low cost sanitation, afforestation etc.


Protected Area
• These are the areas falling between the Inner line and the International Border of the State which have been declared as a Protected Area under the Foreigners (Protected Areas) Order, 1958.
• The protected areas are located in the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan and Jammu and Kashmir.
• In 2010, the entire area of the states of Manipur, Mizoram and Nagaland was excluded from the Protected Area regime.

What is Inner Line?
• The main purpose of the Inner Line is to restrict the free movements of non-natives in the Protected areas.
• The concept of inner line was created by the British to safeguard their commercial interests in border areas. After independence, the Indian government continued with the system in the name of protecting the culture of people in these areas.
• Inner Line Permit: Inner Line Permit (ILP) is an official travel document issued by the Government of India to allow inward travel of an Indian citizen, who are not residents of those areas, into a protected area for a limited period.
• Protected Area Permit (PAP): It is the official travel document required for non-Indian citizens to visit such areas in India.

Restricted Area Permit (RAP)
• Restricted areas are areas classified as restricted under the Foreigners (Restricted Areas) Order, 1963.
• A Restricted Area Permit (RAP) is required for non-Indians to visit certain areas in India including the entire Union Territory of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Parts of the state of Sikkim.



• For both PAP and RAP, prior permission of the Ministry of Home Affairs is mandatory.
• Both PAP and RAP are granted for a specific purpose (i.e. Business, Employment, Studies etc.) and the same is endorsed on the passport of the foreigner.


• Unlike Protected Area Permit, Restricted Area Permit is generally available for individual travelers and can be issued by overseas embassies or even, in some cases such as Port Blair’s Vir Savarkar Airport, on the spot.
• Indian citizens do not need special permission to visit Restricted Areas.